DOHA 2024

02 - 18 FEBRUARY

The World Aquatics Championships is a major international sporting event that features six aquatic sports. Traditionally held on a biennial basis, the event brings together elite athletes from around the world to compete in swimming, diving, water polo, artistic swimming, open water swimming and high diving. The World Aquatics Championships was first organized in 1973 by the World Aquatics with the aim of promoting and developing water sports worldwide.

The World Aquatics Championships – Doha 2024 will be taking place in Doha for the first time after the country successfully hosted multiple World Aquatics events over recent years. Taking place from 2-18 February 2024, the event will feature around 2,600 athletes from 190 nations, kicking off with the Opening Ceremony on Friday, 2 February 2024.

  • Artistic Swimming

    The Aspire Dome will host the Artistic Swimming competitions; an aquatic event that at a competitive level requires a large variety of highly refined athletic skills. Many of these skills take place while athletes hold their breath underwater. Routines are the artistic expression of the sport. A routine is a choreography of music performed in the water. In routines, athletes demonstrate their mastery in skills combining techniques to create movements that match with the selected music.

  • Diving

    With springboard, platform, team, and synchronized diving events, athletes have their performances rated for their accuracy, mid-air motions, and entry into the water. It takes less than two seconds from jumping to hitting the water, but the skills they showcase in that small amount of time will determine their scores. Keep an eye out for Wang Zongyuan, Chinese men’s diving team World Aquatics Championships history-maker, four-time World Champion and Olympic synchro champion. The diving competitions will take place at the Hamad Aquatic Centre.

  • High Diving

    High diving was included as an event in the World Aquatics Championships for the first time in 2013. A sport of power, balance and aerial awareness, high divers reach speeds of nearly 90 kph when executing their dives. Men dive from the 27m tower. Women dive from 20m. The winner is the athlete with the highest cumulative score across four dives.

  • Water Polo

    Two teams comprised of seven members (including one goalkeeper) compete in a pool court to put the ball in the opponent's goal, aiming to score the most goals. Also known as "water martial arts" due to the sport’s high intensity. Worth watching for the rush of the goals and dynamic movements of the players above and in the water. The Water Polo competitions will be taking place at the Aspire Dome.

  • Swimming

    The swimming competitions will be taking place at the Aspire Dome. Cconsidered by many the flagship event at every edition of the World Aquatics Championships, with men and women competing across 46 medal events. Emerging elites to World Record-holding swimmers compete in various distance events across four stroke: freestyle, backstroke, breaststroke, and butterfly. There are also individual medleys – an event where athletes swim all four swimming styles in a set order – and relays.

  • Open Water Swimming

    Unlike swimming competitions in the pool, open water swimming competitions take place over long distances in natural bodies of water such as the open ocean, rivers and lakes. The competitions will be taking place at the Doha Port for everyone to watch for free. Also called water marathons, the competition distances range from 5km to 10km in the individual races in addition to the Mixed 4x1500m Relay event. Because open water swimmers compete in natural conditions, it is a grueling sport that requires knowledge and experience as well as technique. To get more information about the venue access please visit the official web page.



The World Aquatics Championships – Doha 2024 competitions will take place at three main venues in Doha - The Aspire Dome, Hamad Aquatic Centre, and the Old Doha Port. These venues were selected based on their ability to meet the technical requirements of each aquatic sport, their reputation for hosting international events, and their capacity to provide a memorable experience for athletes and spectators.